• District Advocacy Initiatives

    As a public school district, Brewster Central School District is subject to laws and regulations from various state and federal agencies. These mandates impact your children and frequently are not accompanied by the additional funding needed to implement them, resulting in fiscal repercussions to the District. The Board of Education strives to keep our community apprised when such matters arise and will continually advocate for our students.

    We need the help of the Brewster community, and all communities in New York State, to unite in having our voices heard. The Board encourages all residents to contact our elected officials to advocate for our students.

    Please consider clicking on the link below to send a message to support New York State public education in the areas of:

    • Transportation aid
    • Logistical and financial support for COVID testing to keep schools open
    • Federal funding for public schools
    • Supporting student mental health


    Click Here to Send Advocacy Letters

    Alternatively, please feel free to craft a letter of your own to send to elected officials. A list of our legislators is below for your reference.

  • Governor Kathy Hochul
    The Honorable Kathy Hochul
    Governor of New York State 
    NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224 
    Tel:  518 474-8390
    Fax: 518 474-3767

    NYS Senator Peter Harckham
    188 State Street
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 812
    Albany, NY 12247
    Tel: 518-455-2340
    Fax:  518-426-6786
    Email: harckham@nysenate.gov

    NYS Assemblyman Kevin Byrne
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 318
    Albany, NY 12248
    Tel:  518-455-5783
    Email: ByrneK@nyassembly.gov

    NYS Assemblyman Carl E. Heastie
    Speaker, New York State Assembly
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 932
    Albany, NY 12248
    Tel:  518-455-3791
    Fax:  518-455-5459
    Email: speaker@assembly.state.ny.us

  • NYS Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins
    Majority Leader, New York State Senate
    188 State Street
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 907
    Albany, NY 12247
    Tel:  518-455-2585
    Fax:  518-426-6811
    Email: scousins@nysenate.gov

    NYS Assemblyman Michael Benedetto
    Chair, Education Committee
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 836
    Albany, NY 12248
    Tel:  518-455-5296
    Email: benedettom@nyassembly.gov

    NYS Senator Shelley Mayer
    Chair, Education Committee
    188 State Street
    Legislative Office Building, Rm. 509
    Albany, NY 12247
    Tel:  518-455-2031
    Fax:  518-426-6860
    Email: smayer@nysenate.gov

    Dr. Betty A. Rosa
    Commissioner
    NYS Education Department
    89 Washington Avenue
    Albany, NY 12234
    Tel:  518-474-3852
    Email: commissioner@nysed.gov